Skip to Content
G

G

Berger, John

In this novel John Berger relates the story of 'G' a young man forging an energetic sexual career in Europe during the early years of this century

Paperback, Book. English. General.
Published London: Bloomsbury, 2012
Rated
from 2 users

No copies available at branches.

  • Newton Park – Earliest copy due back 14th April

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status
    00345863 Main Collection 823.914/BER Standard Due back 14th April

Details

Statement of responsibility: John Berger
ISBN: 1408834340, 9781408834343
Note: Originally published: London: Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1972.
Physical Description: 336 p. ; 20 cm.
Subject: Europe History 20th century Fiction.

Author note

John Berger was born in London in 1926. His many books, innovative in form and far-reaching in their historical and political insight, include the Booker Prize-winning novel G, To the Wedding and King. Amongst his outstanding studies of art and photography are Another Way of Telling, The Success and Failure of Picasso, Titian: Nymph and Shepherd (with Katya Berger) and the internationally acclaimed Ways of Seeing. He lives and works in a small village in the French Alps, the setting for his trilogy Into Their Labours (Pig Earth, Once in Europa and Lilac and Flag). His collection of essays The Shape of a Pocket was published in 2001.

Reviews

Fascinating ... an extraordinary mixture of historical detail and sexual meditation ... G. belongs in the tradition of George Eliot, Tolstoy, D. H. Lawrence and Norman Mailer
New York Times||Its energy and invention remains alive ... Michael Ondaatje, most notably, seems to have learned an awful lot from this book, both in terms of its fractured narrative techniques and the way the fleshy frailty of human characters is so exposed by the technology of the early modern age ... Berger also shares Ondaatje's ability to produce wonderful set pieces
Guardian||The most interesting novel in English I have read for many years ... It is one of the few serious attempts for our time to do for the novel what Brecht did for drama: to reshape it in the light of twentieth-century experience ... A fine, humane and challenging book
The New Republic