Skip to Content
Jim Crace

Jim Crace

Tew, Philip

A study of the internationally successful author Jim Crace, this title presents a chronological treatment of Crace's novels. It is designed for undergraduates of contemporary fiction and for those who simply enjoy reading the author's work. Jim Crace is one of the most imaginative of contemporary novelists. The author of nine novels, he has received great public and intellectual acclaim across the UK, Europe, Australia and the United States. He was awarded the National Book Critics' Circle Fiction prize (USA) for Being Dead in 2000. Philip Tew's study is the first extended critical examination of Crace's oeuvre and is based on extensive interviews with the novelist, including discussions of his work from his first worldwide bestseller Continent (1986) up to The Pesthouse (2007). Designed especially both for undergraduates of contemporary fiction, and for those who simply enjoy reading the author, Jim Crace is an excellent addition to the Contemporary British Novelists series. Tew's treatment of themes, contexts and narrative strategies illuminates the literary and critical contexts within which Crace operates, situating him as one of the most adventurous and challenging of Britain's twenty-first century authors

eBook, Electronic resource, Book. English. Electronic books.
Published Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2006
Rate this

Available: Online

This item is not reservable because:

  • You can only request items from our lending collections. You cannot reserve journals.
  • Online – One available in E-book

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status
    2778125-1001 E-book Online Available


Statement of responsibility: Philip Tew
ISBN: 1847796109, 9781847796103
Note: Includes bibliographical references (p. 205-215) and index.
Physical Description: xviii, 220 p.
Series: Contemporary British novelists
Subject: Literary studies: c 1900 to c 2000; Ireland; Modern & contemporary fiction; Biography: literary; Literature: history & criticism; United Kingdom, Great Britain; Literature.; Literary studies: fiction, novelists & prose writers; Crace, Jim Criticism and interpretation.; English
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. Askews and Holts. Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Other formats: Also available in printed form ISBN 9780719069130


  1. Prologue 1. Exploring Craceland
  2. 2. Changing communities: Continent (1986) & The Gift of Stones (1988)
  3. 3. Parables of distress: Arcadia (1992) & Signals of Distress (1994) 4. Death, belief and nature: Quarantine (1997) & Being Dead (1999)
  4. 5. Excess and the uncanny: The Devil's Larder (2001), & Six, [Genesis] (2003)
  5. Addendum: The Pesthouse (2007)