Skip to Content
How fiction works

How fiction works

Wood, James, 1965-

In the tradition of E.M. Forster's 'Aspects of the Novel' and Milan Kundera's 'The Art of the Novel', 'How Fiction Works' is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint?Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carr, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page

eBook, Electronic resource, Book. English. Electronic books.
Published London: Vintage, 2009
Rate this

Available: Online

This item is not reservable because:

  • You can only request items from our lending collections. You cannot reserve journals.
  • Online – One available in E-book

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status
    E-book Online Available

Details

Statement of responsibility: James Wood
ISBN: 1446414485, 9781446414484
Note: Originally published: London: Jonathan Cape, 2008.
Note: Includes bibliographical references and index.
Physical Description: 194 p.
Subject: Fiction History and criticism.; Literary studies: fiction, novelists & prose writers; Literary essays; Literature: history & criticism; Literature.; Literary theory; Fiction Technique.
Reproduction: Electronic reproduction. Askews and Holts. Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Other formats: Also available in printed form ISBN 9781845950934

Author note

JAMES WOOD is a staff writer atThe New Yorkerand a visiting lecturer at Harvard. In addition toHow Fiction Works, he is the author of two essay collections,The Broken Estateand The Irresponsible Self, a novel, The Book Against God.

Reviews

"This compelling essay shows just how deeply, sensitively, imaginatively and joyfully he reads"
Scotland on Sunday||"There aren't many book reviewers whose leaving one magazine to go to work for another would make the headlines. But then there aren't many book reviewers like James Wood"
Sunday Telegraph||"Luminous... full of top-notch observations from the coal-face"
Independent on Sunday||"Enchanting... Witty, concise, and composed with a lovely lightness of touch"
Economist||"Exceptionally illuminating... brilliantly acute and enticingly widely read work. It should be compulsory reading for anyone in the reviewing trade and committed to memory before aspiring writers put pen to paper. For those who intend to pursue the underrated calling of reading fiction without wishing to add to its ranks, it will not only make reading more pleasurable, but articulate what you may have felt but never been able to express"
Herald