Skip to Content
Death in Venice: an opera in two acts, op 88

Death in Venice: an opera in two acts, op 88

Britten, Benjamin (Composer)

Vocal Score Britten’s last opera is based on the short story by Thomas Mann. It follows the inner turmoil of the ageing novelist Gustav von Aschenbach, who becomes infatuated by a boy he sees on the beach in Venice. Unable to confess his love, he dies as the city is ravaged by plague. Full of atmosphere and intense soundscapes, the simple yet subtle motives pull the opera together with great sureness of touch

Published Faber, 1975
Rate this

Available: Newton Park

  • Newton Park – One available in Music Scores M17/BRI

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status
    00225742 Music Scores M17/BRI Standard Available


ISBN: 0571505147, 9780571505142
Physical Description: score
Subject: Operas; English Music; 20Th Century Music