Skip to Content
Music 109: notes on experimental music

Music 109: notes on experimental music

Lucier, Alvin

Composer and peformer Alvin Lucier brings clarity to the world of experimental music as he takes the reader through more than a hundred groundbreaking musical works, including those of Robert Ashley, John Cage, Charles Ives, Morton Feldman, Philip Glass, Pauline Oliveros, Steve Reich, Christian Wolff, and La Monte Young. Lucier explains in detail how each piece is made, unlocking secrets of the composers' style and technique. The book as a whole charts the progress of American experimental music from the 1950s to the present, covering such topics as indeterminacy, electronics, and minimalism, as well as radical innovations in music for the piano, string quartet, and opera. Clear, approachable and lively, Music 109 is Lucier's indispensable guide to late 20th-century composition. No previous musical knowledge is required, and all readers are welcome

Hardback, Book. English.
Published Middletown, Conn.: Wesleyan University Press, c2012
Rate this

Available: Newton Park

  • Newton Park – Two available in Main Collection 780.92/LUC

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status
    00304977 Main Collection 780.92/LUC Standard Available
    00304768 Main Collection 780.92/LUC Standard Available


Statement of responsibility: Alvin Lucier ; foreword by Robert Ashley
ISBN: 0819572977, 0819572985, 9780819572974, 9780819572981
Intended audience: Specialized.
Note: Includes index.
Physical Description: xi, 215 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.
Subject: Composers; Music.; Experimental music; 20th Century; Avant-garde (Music); American music; Lucier, Alvin.