Skip to Content

Results 1 - 10 of 18

By Peters, Torrey
eBook. English.
Published London: Serpent's Tail, 2021
Reese nearly had it all: a loving relationship with Amy, an apartment in New York, a job she didn't hate. She'd scraped together a life previous generations...

eBook. English.
Published Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018
More than perhaps any other genre, crime fiction invites debate over the role of popular fiction in English studies. This book offers lively original...

By Gilbert, Zoe (Fiction writer), author
eBook. English.
Published London: Bloomsbury Publishing, 2019
Fans of Sarah Perry and Angela Carter are set to be particularly absorbed in this haunting engagement with mythology, in which the stories of an island...

By Munro, Alice, 1931-
eBook. English.
Published London: Vintage, 2013
In this new collection, Alice Munro takes the lives of women - unruly, ungovernable, unexpected, funny, sexy and completely recognisable - and brings...

By Richardson, Elsa, author
eBook. English.
Published Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017
1st ed. 2017
This book explores the phenomenon of second sight in nineteenth-century literature and culture. Focusing on the nineteenth century, this book examines...

By Rijneveld, Marieke Lucas, author
eBook. English.
Published London: Faber & Faber, 2020
Main
ONE OF VOGUE'S TOP FIVE DEBUTS OF 2020ONE OF THE OBSERVER'S HIGHLIGHTS OF 2020ONE OF THE GUARDIAN'S TOP TEN BEST NEW BOOKS IN TRANSLATION'THE MOST TALKED...

By Shapira, Yael, author
eBook. English.
Published Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018
Inventing the Gothic Corpse shows how a series of bold experiments in eighteenth-century British realist and Gothic fiction transform the dead body from...

By Davies, Helen, 1983- author
eBook. English.
Published Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015
Neo-Victorian Freakery explores the way in which contemporary fiction, film, and television has revisited the lives of nineteenth-century freak show performers...

By Luczak, Ewa Barbara, author
eBook. English.
Published New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015
First edition
A disturbing but ultimately discredited strain in American thought, eugenics was a crucial ideological force in the early twentieth century. Luczak investigates...

By Sussex, Lucy, 1957-
eBook. English.
Published Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, c2010
This book is a study of the 'mothers' of the mystery genre. Traditionally the invention of crime writing has been ascribed to Poe, Wilkie Collins and...
Search results in RSS