Skip to Content

Results 1 - 10 of 69

By Attridge, Derek
Paperback. English.
Published London: Routledge, 2004
What is literature? The author argues that, because of the impossiblity of definition, we can start afresh to explore its workings and rethink many aspects...

By Day, Gary, 1956-
Hardback. English.
Published Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2008
With a span that goes from the Ancient Greek period to the present day, this history of literary criticism will inform readers about the lives of notable...

By Ferguson, Frances
Book. English.
Published London: Routledge, 1992
As interest in aesthetic experience evolved in the eighteenth century, discussions of the sublime located two opposed accounts of its place and use. Ferguson...

By Moretti, Franco, 1950-
Paperback. English.
Published London: Verso, 2007
Franco Moretti argues that literature scholars should stop reading books and start counting, graphing, and mapping them instead. He shows how literary...

By Moretti, Franco, 1950- author
Paperback. English.
Published London: Verso, 2013
The essays in 'Distant Reading' lead to a new and often contested paradigm of literary analysis. In presenting them here Franco Moretti reconstructs his...

Paperback. English.
Published London: Routledge, 2005
Ranging from the Second World War to the postmodern, this volume considers issues of the 'popular' & the competing criteria by which literature has been...

By Benton, Michael, 1939- author
eBook. English.
Published Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015
This volume develops a poetics of literary biography based on the triangular relationships of lives, works and times and how narrative operates in holding...

By Wood, James, 1965-
eBook. English.
Published London: Vintage, 2009
In the tradition of E.M. Forster's 'Aspects of the Novel' and Milan Kundera's 'The Art of the Novel', 'How Fiction Works' is a scintillating and searching...

By Stott, Andrew McConnell, 1969- author
eBook. English.
Published London: Routledge, 2014
Second edition
2nd edition. This new edition of Andrew Stott's Comedy builds on themes presented in the first edition such as focusing on the significance of comic '...

By Marczewska, Kaja, author
eBook. English.
Published New York: Bloomsbury Academic, 2018
In This Is Not a Copy, Kaja Marczewska identifies a characteristic `copy-paste' tendency in contemporary culture-a shift in attitude that allows reproduction...
Search results in RSS