Skip to Content

Results 1 - 10 of 50

By Benton, Michael, 1939- author
eBook. English.
Published Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015
This volume develops a poetics of literary biography based on the triangular relationships of lives, works and times and how narrative operates in holding...

By Wood, James, 1965-
eBook. English.
Published London: Vintage, 2009
In the tradition of E.M. Forster's 'Aspects of the Novel' and Milan Kundera's 'The Art of the Novel', 'How Fiction Works' is a scintillating and searching...

By Stott, Andrew McConnell, 1969- author
eBook. English.
Published London: Routledge, 2014
Second edition
2nd edition. This new edition of Andrew Stott's Comedy builds on themes presented in the first edition such as focusing on the significance of comic '...

By Maguire, Muireann, author
eBook. English.
Published Oxford: Peter Lang, [2012]
Examines the impact of the Gothic-fantastic on Russian literature in the period 1920-1940. This title shows how early Soviet-era authors exploited traditional...

eBook. English.
Published Chichester, West Sussex: Wiley Blackwell, 2019
An authoritative review of literary biography covering the 17th century to the 20th century. 'A Companion to Literary Biography' offers a comprehensive...

By Calvin, Ritch, 1958- author
eBook. English.
Published Cham: Springer, 2016
This title argues that feminist science fiction shares the same concerns as feminist epistemology-challenges to the sex of the knower, the valuation of...

By Willis, Ika, 1975- author
eBook. English.
Published London: Routledge, 2017
Reception introduces students and academics alike to the study of the way in which texts are received by readers, viewers, and audiences. Organized conceptually...

By Clark, Timothy, 1958- author
eBook. English.
Published Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2019
This volume offers a brief, incisive accessible overview of the fast-changing field of environmental literary criticism in an age of global environmental...

eBook. English.
Published Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018
More than perhaps any other genre, crime fiction invites debate over the role of popular fiction in English studies. This book offers lively original...

By Barry, Peter, 1947-
eBook. English.
Published Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2008
3rd ed
The new edition of 'Beginning Theory' features new chapters which take account of recent developments in literary theory. Beginning theory has been helping...
Search results in RSS