Skip to Content

Results 21 - 30 of 152

Paperback. English.
Published London: Routledge, 2005
Ranging from the Second World War to the postmodern, this volume considers issues of the 'popular' & the competing criteria by which literature has been...

By Benton, Michael, 1939- author
eBook. English.
Published Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015
This volume develops a poetics of literary biography based on the triangular relationships of lives, works and times and how narrative operates in holding...

By Wood, James, 1965-
eBook. English.
Published London: Vintage, 2009
In the tradition of E.M. Forster's 'Aspects of the Novel' and Milan Kundera's 'The Art of the Novel', 'How Fiction Works' is a scintillating and searching...

By Jameson, Fredric
eBook. English.
Published Durham, [N.C.]: Duke University Press, 1991
Now in paperback, Fredric Jameson's most wide-ranging work seeks to crystalize a definition of "postmodernism". Jameson's inquiry looks at the postmodern...

By Rosenblatt, Louise M. (Louise Michelle), 1904-2005
eBook. English.
Published Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1994
Pbk. ed
Louise M. Rosenblatt’s award-winning work continues increasingly to be read in a wide range of academic fields¬óliterary criticism, reading theory, aesthetics...

Paperback. English.
Published Basingstoke: Macmillan, 1995
'Melville and Readings have done a superb job, not only in their choice of essays, but in their elaborate and highly ambitious introduction. It is the...

By McFarland, Thomas, 1926-
eBook. English.
Published Oxford: Clarendon, 1995
This text presents a critique of recent thinking on Romanticism. Using Rousseau as a guide and influence, the author tackles the work of six scholars...

By Berger, John
eBook. English.
Published London: Penguin Books, 2013
John Berger's writings on photography are some of the most original of the twentieth century. This selection contains many groundbreaking essays and previously...

By Archer, John Michael
Hardback. English.
Published New York; Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2005
John Archer re-examines the plays of William Shakespeare, paying close attention to London historiography and recent theories on citizen subjectivity...

By Bolt, Barbara
Paperback. English.
Published London: I. B. Tauris, 2004
Refuting the assumption that art is a representational practice, this book engages with the work of Heidegger, Deleuze and Guattari, C.S. Pierce and Judith...
Search results in RSS